Hello, Im currently using 2016 tax sofware. Will I be able to use the 2016 tax software to file my 2017 taxes?...

Kat
Level 15
Level 15

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

No.  Each tax year has its own software, as tax laws change frequently.  You need to use the software that coincides with the tax year for which you're filing.

*** I am NOT a tax expert. I am a seasoned TurboTax user, and volunteer to provide assistance to TT users. Nothing I post is to be considered TAX ADVICE; I bear no legal liability for responses.***

Next year's program will come out in Mid-Late November.  You can buy it directly from Turbo Tax or check in stores for sales.  You can sign up to get it as soon as it is available.
<a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1901492-what-is-turbotax-advantage-and-how-do-i-enroll">https://tt...>

so 2016 tax software is obsolete and I am expected to buy new disc software every year?..how come owner of the software can't just get the free update instead of buying a whole new software?

There is not a way to just update the software from one year to the next.  Each year's software is designed to comply with the tax laws in effect for that specific tax year.
**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

We live in a technological era and TurboTax can't push new software updates to every customer that have purchase their tax programs?....guess I'll just stick with doing them online than...Spend so much money on this physical copy and its now obsolete. Thanks.