suzaa23

I am a cammodel and didn't know about filing taxes and I'm claimed dependent on my parents taxes, is there a way they wont find out I worked as a cammodel from my taxes?

I know I am silly and should have read the consequences but, I became a cam girl now I am worried my parents will know I am a cam girl after seeing my taxes (if they do). Is there a way that they won't be able to see it because I really can't have them finding out I have been camming and I am scared. I cashed out about 108 dollars from the cam site I work on.

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

Please remove the site name from your post.

You said you "cashed out about 108 dollars".  Did you have more that you COULD have 'cashed out'?  If so, you probably need to count that as income.

If you are required to file a tax return because your income is over the Standard Deduction (usually $6300, unless you also have "unearned" income), there ARE some circumstances when your parents could need to know how much you make (but they don't necessarily need to see the tax return itself).  For example, if someone in your family did not have health insurance, or had health insurance through the Healthcare Marketplace, your parents would need know how much total income you had.
Hal_Al
Level 15

If that is your only income, you do not need to file a return at all, since the amount is under $400*.

If you do need to file, there is no reason they need to see or even know about your return. You file a separate return for your income. Your income does not go on their return. 

There is a rule that says IF somebody else can claim you as a dependent, you are not allowed to claim your own exemption. If you have  sufficient income (usually more than $6300),  you can & should still file taxes, you just don’t get your own $4000 exemption (deduction). In TurboTax, you indicate that somebody else can claim you as a dependent.

*A dependent  must file a tax return for 2016 if he had any of the following: