turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

new foster parent in Maine

Hi there, I am based in Maine, and I became a foster parent in June 2021 for a newborn who is still with me full-time. I did not acknowledge anything about foster parenting to my taxes for 2021. How should I reflect being a foster parent in my 2022 taxes: is anything needed around naming dependents, expenses, income from foster parenting, or anything else? And is there anything I should correct for 2021?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

Hi Gwendolyn F,

These are great questions.  By the good luck, I have some foster care knowledge background but in CA.  Based upon the information, you did not claim the foster child?  I will assume no.  If no one is claiming, then you might consider claiming the child for tax purposes.  I have some questions, did you provide more than half of the support for the child, did the child live with you all year.  Also, we want to make sure that the biological parent(s) have not or are not claiming the child in 2021 and possibly as well in 2022.  I will provide you some links for claiming a child dependent.  See below.

https://www.irs.gov/faqs/filing-requirements-status-dependents/dependents#:~:text=To%20claim%20your%....

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/family/rules-for-claiming-a-dependent-on-your-tax-return/L8LODb...

The second link has our turbo tax site and lays out very nicely the rules for claiming dependents.  Hopefully these are very helpful to you.  Your work as a foster parent is amazing.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"