turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jeast1

FL income from LLC as MA resident

I am a MA resident and made income as a real estate agent in FL this year. It was put into a Florida account for my FL registered S-Corp with the FL address of my S-Corp. 

I am planning on moving to FL by the end of the year.

Is it tax advantageous (or does it not even matter) if I become an FL resident by the year's end so that the FL income is not taxed by MA? Or because I've been a MA resident for more than 180 days of this year, does that mean that amount is rightfully owed to MA regardless?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
AdamNe
Employee Tax Expert

Hello @jeast1 !

Thanks for the question. I'm happy to help. 

If you move to Florida and away from Massachusetts permanently during a tax year, you may be able to file a part-year resident return for Massachusetts for that year. You will be liable for any pass-through income (regardless of whether it was earned in FL or MA) for the dates during which you were a resident, and you will be able to allocate the income you earned after the date you moved as non-resident income (meaning it will not be taxed). 

If you were a lawful resident during any period of time in MA during the tax year, there is no way to retroactively change that and prevent your income from being taxed in MA.  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
AdamNe
Employee Tax Expert

@jeast1 just to clarify,

If you continue to own or keep up a permanent residence in MA, the 183 day rule applies. If you spend more than half your time in MA, you are a full-year resident.