Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Estimated Tax Payments

I retired and had W-2 income through February 2021.  I have been drawing Social Security since January 2021.  I have a side business which typically shows a loss.

This year I will have 1099-MISC income from a contract job that I did.  I did not pay estimated taxes since this is my first year of retirement and I anticipate a loss from my business.  Should I make an estimated tax payment before the end of the year or wait and see if I owe any tax when my return is prepared?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
carolineb
Employee Tax Expert

Estimated Tax Payments

Hi Dianeth! Congratulations on your retirement. You have two items which may require estimated tax payments. Firstly, since you had W-2 income for a month before retirement, you may be taxed on a portion of your Social Security benefits based on the amount of your taxable income. You'll be taxed on: up to 50 percent of your benefits if your other taxable income is $25,000 to $34,000 for an individual or $32,000 to $44,000 for a married couple filing jointly, or up to 85 percent of your benefits if your other taxable income is more than $34,000 (individual) or $44,000 (couple).

Secondly, self employment income is subject to both federal income tax and self employment (Social Security and Medicare) taxes. You had stated that you anticipate a loss after deducting business expenses from your self employment income, in which case no estimated payment would be necessary.