Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

New Job With a Change in State

Hello!

Firstly, thank you so much for doing this!

I am an Oregon resident, who typically pays income tax with her salary. I have switched to a job that is based out of Washington (no income tax), with a company who's headquarters is in Illinois (apologies for the complication). I am currently paying no income tax, due to being in Washington and not working in Illinois. Will I have to pay Oregon income tax, even though my job is in Washington? Will I have to pay to Washington or Illinois as well? Due to this complication would you recommend working with someone to help me with my taxes this year? To give you context, I do not make exorbitant amounts of money, and do not own property, so typically my taxes are fairly easy to complete on my own. 

Thank you!
Amelia 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JaredS_CPA
Employee Tax & Finance Expert

Hello abartoloni,

Thank you for participating in our Ask the Expert event. You ask a very good question and are wise to look into it now so you won't be surprised come tax time. I understand your question, but what isn't clear is if you work from home or commute to Washington State for your job. It really doesn't matter for your specific situation, but having all the facts helps.

Regardless, let's approach this in steps:

1. We can disregard Illinois because it doesn't matter where the home office is, only where you physically work.
  2. We can also disregard Washington because it does not tax personal income.