turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

asktaxquestion
Returning Member

Tax Treatment of a Scholarship from an 501(c)(6) nonprofit organization

Hi,

I am a master student and I got a scholarship/achievement award in a check from a 501(c)(6) organization in 2022. My questions are below:

1. Should I be expecting a tax form from the organization before filing my 2022 tax return? If not, how to report it?

2. According to 26 USC Section 117, I believe the scholarship is tax free as long as I use it to pay for my tuition and books, and keep all my records of the payments. Is that correct?

3. I don't need to finish using up the scholarship fund in the year (2022) I received as long as I use it to pay for my tuition. Am I right?

Thank you in advance!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q. Should I be expecting a tax form from the organization before filing my 2022 tax return?

A. Not if it's a scholarship.  But, for a definitive answer, you'll have to ask them. Rather than issuing a check to you, it's better, for tax purposes, if the organization sends the money to the school, for your account.

Q.  If no tax form,  how to report it?

A. You don't report it on any IRS form, if it was used for qualified expenses ( tuition, fees and books).  In TurboTax (TT), you will be asked if you received any scholarships not shown on the 1098-T. Enter the amount and TT will match it to the expenses you enter.  After adjusting for any tuition credit you may claim, it will report the any taxable amount on line 1 of form 1040 with an SCH notation.