turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If I am a student who works on campus doing computing, does a research program in computing involve work like my main job?

I work as a virtual reality developer on campus, and TurboTax is asking me if my DREU program I did over the summer (https://cra.org/cra-wp/dreu/) "[involves] work that's like my main job", because they paid me in the form of a 1099-MISC. Should I pick yes or no?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
SusanY1
Expert Alumni

If I am a student who works on campus doing computing, does a research program in computing involve work like my main job?

I would pick yes, it sounds like the work is similar in nature.  However, the answer won't affect what is reported on your tax return itself - this is a question designed to help tailor the remaining interview questions.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

3 Replies
SusanY1
Expert Alumni

I would pick yes, it sounds like the work is similar in nature.  However, the answer won't affect what is reported on your tax return itself - this is a question designed to help tailor the remaining interview questions.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15

It's a "gray area" in taxes.  Was the income shown in 3 or box 7 of the 1099 Misc?

You say you work "on campus" but then you say it was "over the summer".  Who paid you? Was it the school or a  for profit company or a non profit?