Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How do I properly enter my 1098-T form if I was reimbursed for a certain amount of tuition?

So I'm currently a teacher taking graduate courses for my continuing education. I currently pay the amount for the tuition up-front, and my district reimburses me for __% of the total after I have passed the course. However, this is not included on my W-2. I'm not entirely sure what I should enter for the 1098-T form, as it's asking for the total paid to the institution. Do I enter what's on the 1098-T form (how much I originally paid up-front), or what I actually paid (the difference between the tuition total and how much I was reimbursed)? If the former, is there a certain place where I include the amount I was reimbursed?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
DavidS127
Expert Alumni

How do I properly enter my 1098-T form if I was reimbursed for a certain amount of tuition?

Yes, there is certain place in the 1098-T entry interview where you are asked about "Employer-provided assistance".  When you answer Yes, a box will "open up" for you to enter the Employer-Provided Assistance.  Just continue through the interview after you've entered your 1098-T "boxes".

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15

The first $5250 of employer educational assistance is usually tax free,  so it will not show on your W-2.  So, it's essentially the same as tax free scholarship and you can not count that part  in claiming the tuition credit.