turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

AOTC American Opportunity Tax Credit - "independent" student

Student status complicates the AOTC so here's my status:

Earned income does not provide over 50% of my support BUT other income does so I am not claimed on my parents return.  (Support is approx 25% earned income,  25% 529 distribution, 25% from personal savings and 25% K1 trust income).  I am under 24 and file my own return.

I am a full time student.  I did not take the full amount of room and board and tuition out of 529, leaving $2000 +/- of tuition to apply to AOTC.  It is my understanding that I can claim AOTC but not if it's refundable.  

So if taxable income is 42,200  and individual exemption is 12,200 leaving net taxable income of 30,000 for a total tax of $924 all of which would be eliminated with AOTC.   
Is this correct?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

That is correct, the under 24, earned income support rule,  applies only to eligibility for the refundable portion of the AOTC.  So, you qualify for up to $1200 of credit (60% x $2000).  So, if your tax liability is only $924, it will be wiped out.

But the tax on $30,000 taxable income, for  Single filing status, is $3413, not $924.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

That is correct, the under 24, earned income support rule,  applies only to eligibility for the refundable portion of the AOTC.  So, you qualify for up to $1200 of credit (60% x $2000).  So, if your tax liability is only $924, it will be wiped out.

But the tax on $30,000 taxable income, for  Single filing status, is $3413, not $924.