Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If I don’t work but I’m a full time student am I able to still file a tax return, since I’m considered a independent student and have two dependents?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

If I don’t work but I’m a full time student am I able to still file a tax return, since I’m considered a independent student and have two dependents?

If you do not have any type of income then you will not need to file a tax return, with or without dependents.

You must have earned income from work to be eligible for any type of tax credit based on earned income, such as the Child Tax Credit or the Earned Income Tax Credit.

You cannot receive a tax refund for taxes never withheld from earned income never received.

KittyM2
Expert Alumni

You can file a return, but if you have no wages or other income to report, there is really no reason to do so. You would not qualify for most credits. For example, the Earned Income Credit requires you to have wages or other "earned" income in order to claim it. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Carl
Level 15

since I’m considered a independent student

How is it you're considered independent? I just don't see it, and I particularly don't see how you're able to support any dependents if you don't have any earned income. More than likely, you qualify to be claimed as a dependent on someone else's return. Unless you're living off some pretty massive student loans, I can't see how you can survive otherwise.