turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm not qualifying for the Lifetime Learning Credit even though my expenses were more than $10k. Why is this?

I'm trying to figure out why I don't qualify for the Lifetime Learning Credit and it's baffling me. All signs point to me being able to claim it, but it keeps coming back to tell me I'm getting $0.

For reference, my education expenses were over $10k, I am a graduate student (so I don't qualify for the American Opportunity Credit), and I made around $1500 in wages (from both a retail job and a self employed job) over the course of the year. Can anyone give me any insight into why I'm not qualifying for the $2000 refund? Is it because I was self employed for a few months? I don't get it.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I'm not qualifying for the Lifetime Learning Credit even though my expenses were more than $10k. Why is this?

The Lifetime Learning Credit is not a refund.  it is a credit that can reduce the ordinary income tax you owe.  If you only had income of $1500, then you do not owe any tax, so no credit is applied.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

View solution in original post

4 Replies

The Lifetime Learning Credit is not a refund.  it is a credit that can reduce the ordinary income tax you owe.  If you only had income of $1500, then you do not owe any tax, so no credit is applied.