turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

F1

If my tuition is paid from a research project that funds me, and not from my stipend (which is reported in W-2) can I get LLC? 1098-T box 2 is $14000 and Box 5 is $300.

I'm a resident alien, and I'm studying PhD with research assistant ship, which is paid by a project that my adivor has. That means my advisor pays me stipend, which I get a W-2 for. But also pays my tuition from the same project. I got a 1098-T, which shoes $14000 in Box 2 and $300 in box 5. Can I use the LLC? I don not pay from my pocket, but as I got the 1098-T can we say that the project is paying me my W-2+$(14000-300), but the school automatically deducts the tuition and pay me the rest?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

If my tuition is paid from a research project that funds me, and not from my stipend (which is reported in W-2) can I get LLC? 1098-T box 2 is $14000 and Box 5 is $300.

If the assistantship is not reported to you on either a form W-2 or a 1099-Misc, you can treat it as tax free scholarship, up to $14,000. You can not claim the Lifetime Learning credit (LLC) because you did not pay with after tax money.

Alternatively, you can claim the LLC, but then you must treat $10,000 of the “scholarship” as taxable income.

View solution in original post

11 Replies

Either there is a lot of missing information or else this seems to not make sense.
What LLC are you talking about?    The $14,000 is your educational expense - not income; and the #00 is a scholarship.  Your questions fails to explain what income you are discussing and fails to explain how some undefined LLC is involved.