turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I take the American Opportunity Credit?

The las conditions states as follows:

- A full-time student over age 18 and under age 24 at the end of 2016 and you earned income was less than one-half of your support?

I am a part time student at a community college and the 1098-T forms states in line 8: "check if at least half-time student" that box is checked.

i am concerned with the words "full-time student". I am considered a full-time student for tax purposes?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ThomasM

You're mixing up two separate sets of requirements:  to be a dependent, and to claim the AOC.

To claim the AOC, your age & dependency status don't matter.  But you have to be at least a half time student for at least one academic period beginning during the tax year.  You also have to be enrolled in a degree program and not have claimed the credit in four previous years.  The AOC is only available for the first four years of eduction, so it's unavailable to graduate students.

When you speak of age & "full-time" student status, you're talking about a dependency requirement.  That's completely distinct from the AOC requirements.  To be claimed as a Qualifying Child (one type of dependent) by a related person, you have to be under age 19 (or under age 24 if a full-time student) and you cannot provide over half your own support.  There are also additional tests; see this link https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p17.pdf for all the requirements (see page 25).