Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I deduct student loan payments made to Canada Student Loans?

Hi, 

I'm a resident alien filing taxes, and am trying to find out if I can deduct the interest payments I have made on my (foreign) student loans. This means I don't have a 1098-E. 

I've found other posts that say there is no requirement that the loan be held by a US bank, but that it has to have been for an "eligible educational institution." I've checked and FAFSA does recognize all of the universities I went to (I received loans from British Columbia and Canada for multiple degrees). 

So without a 1098-E, how do I proceed? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

You can create a Form 1098-E and enter the interest amount. 

In TurboTax online, here are the steps:

• Sign in to your account, select Pick up where you left off
  • At the right upper corner, in the search box, type in 1098e and Enter
  • Select Jump to 1098e
  • Follow prompt

Per IRS, you can claim the student loan interest you pay to a foreign bank as long as the foreign school you went to is an eligible institution that participates in a student aid program administered by the U.S. Department of Education.  Click at the attached blue link to locate your school.  If your school is on the list, it is an eligible institution hence you can deduct the interest. 

Foreign schools, under Federal School Code List, select  2019-2020 Federal School Code List in Excel Format