turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

eml244

1098 T box 7 is checked - can I pay taxes on the 2017 grant money in 2017 instead of this year?

I am a first year graduate student (graduated from undergrad in spring of 2016) and my parents are claiming me as a dependent for 2016. I receive a taxable grant from my graduate school (money is used for room/board). On my 1098-T form, box 5 is ~$30,000 greater than box 2 (this is the money I pay taxes for). However, box 7 is also checked because $15,000 of that taxable income was paid to me in 2017. I would like to pay taxes only on the 2016 grant money and save the 2017 grant money taxes to be paid next year, when I will no longer be claimed as a dependent.  Is this possible? If so, how do I record this information on my tax return. I am confused because the only way I could prove how much money was given in 2016 vs 2017 is by looking at the deposit receipts from my school. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
KrisD
Intuit Alumni

1098 T box 7 is checked - can I pay taxes on the 2017 grant money in 2017 instead of this year?

It is true that if the school bills in December for classes that start the first 3 months of the next year, the student/taxpayer can:

Pay in 2016 and claim the expense on the 2016 tax year return

OR

Pay in 2017 and claim the expense on the 2017 tax year return

Box 7 is checked if the school billed (Box 2) for classes starting in 2017.

The school should only report scholarships received (Box 5) for tax year 2016.