turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Real estate broker

i am a real estate broker and this is the first year of filling, i am a bit confused which form i should file, i am the only agent in the company so i will be giving my self a 1099.

i am using Turbotax business.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Real estate broker

Is the LLC a single-member LLC? Are you the only member? If so, and you did not elect to be treated as a corporation for federal income tax purposes, then the LLC is considered a disregarded entity for federal income tax purposes.

In that event, all of the income and expenses flow through directly to you as if the LLC did not exist and you should be filing your personal income tax return (Form 1040) with a Schedule C for your brokerage firm.

View solution in original post

Real estate broker

You can still take deductions for business expenses as a sole proprietor filing Schedule C; you do not need to elect S corporation status for that purpose.

If you make an election at this point in time, it will be effective for next year (the 2020 tax year).

See https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i2553#idm139773190567344

View solution in original post

22 Replies

Real estate broker

Why are you using TurboTax Business? What type of company (entity) do you have, if any?

Real estate broker

its an LLC .

so do issue a 1099 to my self and file broker office as 1120s ?

Ty

Real estate broker

If it is an LLC, did you make an election to be taxed as a S corporation? Did you file Form 2553?

Real estate broker

turbo tax business is what i use for my other LLC and my real estate P.A

Real estate broker

no

Real estate broker