turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

New Job (independent contractor) as a Restaurant Critic - how to report

I have 2 related questions.

This year, I began a side gig as a restaurant critic.  I am an independent contractor for a restaurant chain, and they pay me to evaluate the food and service in 8 locations.  They have sent me a 1099 for all of the expenses they have reimbursed (each time I review a restaurant, I submit an expense form for the cost of the meal plus any parking costs).

My questions:

1. In turbo tax, do I create a business for reporting purposes?  If so, I cannot find a code resembling what I do, so shall I choose the option with all 9's?
  2. How can I indicate that the meal expenses are my job?  In other words, how can I deduct 100% of the meals instead of 50%?  The meals are not simply a business expense....they ARE the business.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Carolyn

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
RobertG
Expert Alumni

Yes, you would create a business for reporting purposes.

The business code is just used by the IRS for statistical purposes, it does not affect your taxes, so if you can't find a code, just use the code with all nines.

As for claiming 100% of the business meals, Internal Revenue Code section 274 allows taxpayers to deduct 50% of an otherwise deductible business meal. I can find no authority that would allow you to deduct it at 100%.  The theory behind the 50% rule is that since you have to eat anyway, half the cost is personal.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"