turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ejlee051609
Returning Member

Nanny Tax HELP and W2

I'm new to the household employer game. We didn't think we were going to have to pay taxes on our nanny since she started at the end of September, but we paid her JUST enough to have to pay taxes.

I have applied for an EIN.

I did not pay any quarterly taxes for her since we just realized we would need to pay some.

When I plug in her wages in the W2 generator in Turbo Tax it automatically calculates her SS and Medicare witholdings. But I have agreed to pay her percentage as well as our responsibility.

So I put 0 in both of these boxes right? Even though Turbo Tax is telling me that the IRS is going to send it back to me to get corrected?

What else do I need to do?

Please Help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

16 Replies
RobertG
Expert Alumni

Nanny Tax HELP and W2

You should enter the amounts for Social Security and Medicare tax as if you withheld them.  

You will pay those taxes when you file Schedule H, Household Employment Taxes.

There is a good example that covers your situation in the 2019 Instructions for Schedule H on page 10.  

Please see the TurboTax site: Where is IRS Schedule H? for further information.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Nanny Tax HELP and W2

and how do I issue a W2 for my nanny? Can I use TurboTax Deluxe? Or I have to use one of the three:

-TurboTax Self-Employed?

-TurboTax Home & Business?

-TurboTax Business?

DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

Nanny Tax HELP and W2