Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Tanya_R

LLC and sole proprietor, same household

I have been running a small business for 5 years. My husband had a regular job and got a W2 each year. This year in March he started his own business. It is an LLC, S corp with him and myself as members. I still have my own business. He will get a W2 from his previous employer as well. Can we still file jointly? Does he have to file for his company and personally? What "version" of turbo tax do we need? In the past we have used home and business.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Owning a business of any type in any capacity has absolutely no effect on your filing status for your personal 1040 return. You still file a joint 1040 no matter what.

Since you elected to have your LLC "treated like an S-Corp" you must understand that this is for *tax* *purposes* *only* and nothing else. When a business owner makes this election and files the 2553 with the IRS to have the LLC treated like an S-Corp, then the business is required to "act" like an S-Corp. That means you must follow all the rules, requlations and laws that govern S-Corps at both the federal and state level. Therefore to avoid the potential for confusion in the future (when it comes to taxes only) you might as well just say "I/we have an S-Corp" and leave it at that.