Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is it OK to have business expenses more than business income i.e., negative business income?

I'm a part time consultant. My business income this year is around $6,000 (reported in 1099-MISC). I bought asset like laptop, phone and tablet this year for this business. As a result, my business expenses is around $6,500. Is it OK to claim all the business expenses since now, my net business income is negative?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AnnaB

Is it OK to have business expenses more than business income i.e., negative business income?

Yes, and legally, you should claim all eligible business expenses along with all income.  In general, this does not cause problems; however, if you consistently have losses (3 years or more, for example), then the IRS could come back and consider this a hobby instead of a business and disallow the loss(es) claimed.  For hobby income (without a clear profit intent), then you can only deduct your expenses up to the income as an itemized deduction (and reduced by 2% of your adjusted gross income).

View solution in original post

5 Replies
AnnaB