turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mft1180

Business Start Up Expenses

My wife and I did not make a lot money this year. I am a Realtor and she is self employed. Her business did not make any money nor did she draw any compensation. We are receiving EIC. When I start to add her business start up fees, our federal return gets worse. I'm going to owe money if I continue to add expenses. Do I have to file start up expenses this year? Or can I wait until I'm more profitable?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

Yes, you are required to claim the all expenses this year.  However, you DO have the option to NOT use the $5000 of immediate startup expenses, but amortize the entire amount over 15 years instead.  That sounds like it may be a good option for you.
mft1180

Thanks, Bill. I only about $3900 in start up expenses. So I'm guessing I need to claim that. But if that drives up the cost of what I owe the federal government, maybe its not worth claiming it. Can I not claim anything?

As said before, yes, you are required to claim it, BUT you have the option to amortize the entire $3900 over 15 years.  That would only give you a very small deduction for this year, and the rest would be spread out over the next 14-15 years.
mft1180

Got it, Bill. Thanks for you time and assistance.
GretchenG
Intuit Alumni

I hope this helps: Start-Up Expenses are reported in aggregate - one amount equal to the total of all expenses incurred. For active business activities, these costs are entered either under Assets/Depreciation or under Business Expensesdepending...