turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a California resident living in WA, I filed my income that I made in WA but accidentally put I am a resident of WA, how can I fix my file to say I am from CA?

I am a student living in Washington but I am a registered resident of California. when filing I accidentally said I was a resident of Washington. The IRS knows I am from California because they have my California address as well as my California drivers license on record. I already submitted my file, is there some way to change this error because now it looks like I was trying to evade my California resident tax which is going to be a minuscule amount anyway. I am happy to pay that tax, I just made an error when filing. Just trying to avoid future troubles. Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I am a California resident living in WA, I filed my income that I made in WA but accidentally put I am a resident of WA, how can I fix my file to say I am from CA?

Yes, you can fix this by filing an amended California return to claim the correct residency.  Here is an FAQ to assist you with filing a state amended return:  https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/4653469

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

1 Reply
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

Yes, you can fix this by filing an amended California return to claim the correct residency.  Here is an FAQ to assist you with filing a state amended return:  https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/4653469