Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

aadeyemo5

Hello so I filed my taxes already and told both my parents no one should claim me on their taxes because I’m independent.

Hi, so I’m 19 years old. As of the new year of 2017 I  got kicked out while I was a college freshman. I’m still a full time student sophomore year. I’m a US citizen. And I’ve been responsible for my housing and tuition and all expenses as of January first last year. I spoke with an advisor at school and she says I’m independent (I made an error of saying dependent). So meaning no one can claim me on their taxes. I spoke with both parents when schools starting because I still legally need their tax Info for fafsa regardless of dependency or not. So I spoke with them both not to claim me on their taxes which they both agreed. My mom on the other hand who is remarried called me to say she needs to claim me on her taxes in order to pay less back. I don’t even know what that means. But do I have to ? is more of my question. Am I wrong for saying no one can claim me on their taxes legally. And I have already filed my taxes and received a refund. Just waiting to update fafsa and I usually use my moms information. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Hello so I filed my taxes already and told both my parents no one should claim me on their taxes because I’m independent.

You have not mentioned your age or whether you are a full-time student.  Here are the rules your parents use: