turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sbsc2

Last fiscal year, I was on a student visa, but I think I was a tax resident. I didnt file taxes and Im trying to now.In Aug, I got a green card.Does this affect my taxes?

In the last fiscal year (the one we should file taxes for this year), I was in the US on a student visa, but I think I was considered a resident for tax purposes. I failed to file my taxes due to extenuating circumstances and I am trying to file now. However, on August 2022, I became a lawful permanent resident of the US (green card holder). Does this change of status affect my tax filing? If so, how? And can I file with TurboTax considering I was an F-1 student in the past fiscal year? (I had been advised against using TurboTax because it was supposedly only for US Citizens or tax residents, and I was instead advised to use SprinTax instead).
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

Last fiscal year, I was on a student visa, but I think I was a tax resident. I didnt file taxes and Im trying to now.In Aug, I got a green card.Does this affect my taxes?

@pk ?

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@sbsc2 , first the usual questions to understand the situation--

(a) which country are you from -- citizen of ? 

(b) when did you enter the USA with F-1 ?  Was this your first entry or were there others prior to that ?   Was the F-1 extended?

(c) you keep using the  word "fiscal" year, do you mean "Tax " year ?

(d) Were you abroad when the Green Card was issued/approved  and if so when did you enter the country to "consummate" the Green Card ? Else what is the  "date of admission" on the Green Card ?