turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I have been filing self employed since I worked as a financial planner years ago, but I don't think that is appropriate as I'm no longer self employed? Please advise.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Carl
Level 15

I have been filing self employed since I worked as a financial planner years ago, but I don't think that is appropriate as I'm no longer self employed? Please advise.

What changed your status? Are you retired? Maybe you're a W-2 employee now?

I started working for a company where I had a salary again. Didn't have self employment expenses
Carl
Level 15

Then you need to report your SCH C business as closed, to the IRS.

No business this year – closed last year

Most likely when you started this year's tax return, you did indicate that you do NOT have business income/expenses to report. But the business stuff was still imported anyway from the previous year's return. This will happen if you did not completely and correctly report your disposition of this business on the previous year's return. You can always go back and edit last year's return using the guidance below. But if your business is not that complex, you can just report it's "final" disposition with a date of 1/1/2017

Otherwise, with the online version of the program, you must have your return open so that you can edit it. Then click My Account in the upper right and select the clear and start over option. A few screens later you can select the flavor of TurboTax you desire to start with.