turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I was an international student during 2015/2016 (J1 visa). I filled out my taxes using TurboTax. I e-filed form 1040ez instead of 1040nrez. I got refunded, what I do?

I got refunded in my bank account and I have no idea about how I should give it back. I also know I should fill out form 1040x, but I don't know all the spaces there. I have to fill it out completely? Some people advised me to pay the IRS by paper check however I don't know how to calculate if I'm owing anything to IRS.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

I was an international student during 2015/2016 (J1 visa). I filled out my taxes using TurboTax. I e-filed form 1040ez instead of 1040nrez. I got refunded, what I do?

You would simply just need to amend your Form 1040 to Form 1040-NR by following the steps from below.  Our partner, Sprintax will provide step by step interview questions to assist you through the filing process and calculates the taxes you are entitled to.  Simply follow the prompts.  You will then send back to IRS the difference in your refunds between Form 1040 and 1040-NR. 

-If you are considered as a non-resident, as TurboTax does not support the NR form, you are recommended to use our affiliated partner, Sprintax to complete your 1040-NR filing.  

1.  Download Form 1040-X from the IRS website ( see below).  On the front page of Form 1040-X, enter your name, current address, and social security number (SSN) or IRS individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN)

2.  Do not enter any other information on page 1.  

3.  Do not complete Parts I or II on page 2 of Form 1040X.