turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

** TAX YEAR 2018 or earlier** Deducting business expenses for work done for overseas nonprofit

I am a consultant for a nonprofit located in Europe, which pays me by transferring funds to my bank account here.  I'd like to ask for some clarification on this: the IRS states about business expense deductions related to this that "You may not claim deductions for expenses on Schedule C," but then in the following paragraph says, "You may also claim deductions for unreimbursed employee business expenses arising from your employment on Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses."

So can I deduct the expenses on 2106 but not on Schedule C?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

** TAX YEAR 2018 or earlier** Deducting business expenses for work done for overseas nonprofit

I'm not sure where you are reading about your business expenses.  If you are filing a Schedule C for self-employment, you deduct your expenses just like you would for any other income.  It does not matter if your client is a nonprofit or an overseas organization.  It's not foreign earned income if you are a US citizen and resident and perform the work here.

If you receive a W-2 from this client then you would claim expenses on the 2106.