turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

nirajgtm

State tax for Michigan

Hi,

I am a resident of NY . I was in Michigan for work in last three months of 2018 (Oct, Nov, Dec) since my client is there. I didn't change my addresses and just stayed with a friend as a guest.  My W2 has my NY address, but should i file my tax for Michigan state as well ?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

State tax for Michigan

Technically, yes ....

Do the MI return first and then NY

NY will provide a credit for whAt is due MI
IsabellaG
Expert Alumni

State tax for Michigan

Yes, if you earned income in Michigan, you'll need to file a state return for MI. From what you describe, you would file as a nonresident of Michigan. Prepare that state return first, then NY, because NY will give you a tax credit for income tax paid to another state.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

State tax for Michigan

My daughter is a resident of Virginia, goes to college in Minnesota, and earns summer income in Michigan.  It appears that Turbotax doesn't allow me to input that she had $68 of Michigan state tax withheld from the summer paycheck--saying she owes Michigan another $50.  How can I tell whether Turbotax is giving her credit for the Michigan state tax that she paid?

Thanks!

TomD8
Level 15

State tax for Michigan

@Baseball_Enthusiast   Be sure you entered your daughter's W-2 correctly, including the Michigan taxes withheld (which should appear in Box 17 of the W-2).