turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Housing Allowance for Pastor and W2

Hello - I'm a new pastor. I received a W2 from my church with my total wages. In a box (14) on the W2, I'm given the total of the housing allowance I received for 2017. The total in box 1 includes the dollars appearing in box 14. As example, I received a housing allowance of $2500 as a portion of my total compensation $40000. $40000 is in box 1 and $2500 is in box 14. When I enter these into TurboTax, my tax burden actually goes up based on the housing allowance, which doesn't seem right. My question is: should my church have included the $2500 in the $40000 or should I have received a W2 that said $37500 in box 1 and $2500 in box 14? Am I double counting the income in some way? Any help is appreciated. 

Richard 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

A Clergy W-2 from a church should show Salary in box 1 and the housing allowance in box 14. If your salary is 37,500 and the housing allowance is 2,500 for a total compensation of 40,000. Box 1 is 37,500, Box 14 is 2,500.  You may need to ask your treasurer for a corrected W-2.

Turbo Tax then correctly asks you how much you spent on housing. If you spent 2,499, Turbo Tax will show $1 of "EXCESS ALLOWANCE" on line 7 of your 1040.  If you spent 3,000 on housing you will only benefit up to the 2,500 determined by your compensation package. It cannot be retroactively adjusted.