turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

California Capital Loss Carryover -- enter from where?

I'm a California resident, and I prepared my 2017 taxes using TT Premiere.

I'm now doing my 2018 taxes with TT Premiere, and finished entering my stock sales. I'm presented with a screen entitled "Let's get some info from your 2017 tax return", which is prepopulated from the 2017 return, except for one field (the last one):

The field header says "Now look at your California Form 540, Schedule D and enter your capital loss carryover, if any, as a positive amount".

Two problems:

1. There is no Schedule D on the California 540. There's a "Schedule D(540)". 
  2. There's only one field on that schedule that says anything about a carryover, and it's the value from 2016 (line 6) -- the value of which wouldn't make any sense to enter here.

I'm thinking that Intuit means I should enter the value from the 2017 "California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet", line 8 ("capital loss carryover to 2018").

Can anyone confirm this? Am I overlooking some very obvious clue? Is there some reason why TT fails to auto-fill this field???

UPDATE:

Ah-hah! The field wasn't auto-filled because I hadn't yet downloaded the California module. Intuit really ought to flag this, reminding you that it will autofill the field if you download the state software. Sigh.

And my guess appears to have been correct.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
ejg

We are confronting the same thing. I am also using 2018 Premier.