turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Am I able to be claimed as a dependent?

Some info about my situation:
I turned 24 in 2018. I graduated from school in May 2018 and got married the same month. While in school I lived in a dorm and paid my own expenses with a part time job, and since graduating my husband and I have lived at my mother’s house. She paid all house expenses except for gas and electric which we split with my brother. The rest of our expenses we paid ourselves. I worked on and off for the rest of the year and in total made about $5300.

Now my question: can my mother claim me as a dependent? We would like to file jointly in order to get the benefits of being newly married but she claims that she can claim me since I was in school 5 months of the year. She also says that not claiming me would mean having to pay a lot back to the IRS since she said she would claim me on her w4 at the beginning of the year.

Is she allowed to claim me?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

Several items involved here:

1. If you file jointly with your husband, no one else can claim you as a dependent. If you do this and your mother claims you as a dependent, it is likely that this will be flagged by the IRS. (exception is if you are filing jointly to obtain a refund)
  2. You seem to meet the IRS definition of student -- The IRS defines full-time student as one who is enrolled as a fulltime student during part of five months of a year.
  3. What is questionable in your data is whether you provided more than half of your support. Tuition does not count.