Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Tax Law Sec. 535 Chapter 8 (Starting a business)

I'm a professional actress and started my self proprietary business in 2016.  My 2016 Federal Income Tax Returns were audited and I was billed an additional $14,000 in federal tax; since the IRS disallowed $48,000 in business expenses.  In a normal business, a business has start up expenses such as location rental, employee hires, payroll, etc. before he/or she can start their work.  Those expenses are amortized (they depreciate over the years). 

As an actress, you have to pay up front for expenses such as headshots, demo reels, etc. before you can even begin auditioning for acting jobs.  Additionally, I started auditioning for acting jobs right away.  And of course, I'm self employed.   Are acting expenses considered to be amortized or not?  If not, do I have grounds to file a formal appeal disputing the IRS audit findings/additional tax bill?  Thanks for your help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

@Nfinn102206 wrote:

I'm a professional actress and started my self proprietary business in 2016.  My 2016 Federal Income Tax Returns were audited and I was billed an additional $14,000 in federal tax; since the IRS disallowed $48,000 in business expenses.  In a normal business, a business has start up expenses such as location rental, employee hires, payroll, etc. before he/or she can start their work.  Those expenses are amortized (they depreciate over the years).